Posted By

On April 4th, Richard Ford will receive the 4th annual Lawrence A. Sanders Award for Fiction. Ford is the author of seven novels, including his latest Canada, the Bascombe novels (The SportswriterIndependence Day —winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the PEN Faulkner Award—, and The Lay of the Land), as well as four collections of short stories, among them Rock Springs and A Multitude of Sins. The presentation program will take place at 8 PM on April 4th, on the Biscayne Bay Campus of FIU in the Academic One auditorium, AC I-194, and is open to the public. This event is part of the FIU Creative Writing Program’s Writers on the Bay Series, which gives students and the community access to world-renowned authors.

The Sanders Award is given annually to a writer of fiction, identified by the FIU Creative Writing Program, whose work combines literary excellence with popular appeal. The award is supported by a grant from the Lawrence A. Sanders Foundation of Boca Raton. Sanders, who died in 1998, was the author of well-regarded popular novels, including The First Deadly Sin. The Creative Writing Program also wishes to extend its thanks to The Betsy Hotel and Barnes & Nobles Booksellers for their support of Writers on the Bay.